TfL JamCams
Latest stills and short clips from about 900 London traffic cameras, free from Transport for London.
Self-serve API, no key, irlpls adapter · docs
- Mode
- Live · minutes
- Coverage
- United Kingdom
- Price
- Free
- Key
- Not needed
- Resale
- Not stated
- AI training
- Not stated
Eight links
0 of 8 links claimed · 0 evidenced
Compiled from public sources, unclaimed. What they mean
Each link
- 1. Real personNot stated
Person · Not stated
Still open: Fixed TfL cameras, not people
- 2. Captured locallyNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a signed capture, so none (STANDARD §3). What is stated: Each image and clip comes from a named TfL camera and carries TfL branding. No capture signing; nothing checkable proves the frame came from that camera's sensor
Place · Claimed. Each camera has coordinates, a location name (also burned into the image) and a view direction
Still open: Movable cameras may face elsewhere; TfL says images are not captured while a camera is in use for managing traffic, but this is not proven per image
Needs both: the weaker one counts.
- 3. Genuine deviceNot stated
App · Not stated
Still open: No signing of images or clips; nothing documents how they are produced or whether they are processed
- 4. Sealed captureNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a signed capture, so none (STANDARD §3). What is stated: Each image and clip comes from a named TfL camera and carries TfL branding. No capture signing; nothing checkable proves the frame came from that camera's sensor
Content · Not stated
Still open: No review of content
- 5. Known timestampReported
Time · Claimed. TfL says images are date and time stamped (burned into the frame); the S3 file also has a Last-Modified header
Still open: The stamp is unsigned text in the image; record 'modified' timestamps are database artefacts and say nothing about the image
A time stated, not attested (RFC 3161, a log): Reported.
- 6. Tracked in transitNot stated
Custody record (optional field) · Not stated
- 7. Independently verifiedNot stated
Cross-check · Not stated
Still open: None documented
- 8. Delivered to youNot stated
Delivery receipt (optional field) · Not stated
API
No account or key needed.
- base
- https:/
/ api.tfl.gov.uk - auth
- Optional: API key in the URL
- access
- Self-serve
- adapter
tfl_jamcams
- GET /
Place/ Type/ JamCam - GET /
Place - GET /
Place/ {id}
Rate limit. 50 requests per minute; 500 requests per minute, per key with a key. Anonymous access. Higher quotas on request. source
Sources
14 sources
- Keyless call returned 890 JamCams (805 available) with id, commonName, lat, lon, available, imageUrl, videoUrl, view (tested 2026-10-26) api.tfl.gov.uk
- Sampled image and clip Last-Modified about 5 minutes before fetch; image 352x288 with burned-in date/time, location name and TfL logo; clip about 10 seconds (2026-10-26) s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com
- Nearby search by lat, lon, radius and type=JamCam returns cameras with distance; single record by id api.tfl.gov.uk
- Place endpoints and app_key query auth in the Unified API Swagger description api.tfl.gov.uk
- Register, subscribe to the 500 requests/minute product, append app_key as a query parameter; app_id no longer required api-portal.tfl.gov.uk
- Anonymous access limited to 50 requests a minute; free '500 requests a minute' product; higher quotas on request api-portal.tfl.gov.uk
- JamCam images TfL branded, date and time stamped, refreshed every three minutes or more often; feed copy every 2 min, max 2 min capture to display, max 15 min; not captured when a camera is used for managing traffic, maintained or faulty; must not crop images (archived copy of tfl.gov.uk/info-for/open-data-users/our-open-data, captured 2026-09-14; live page blocks automated fetches) web.archive.org
- Transport Data Service licence: OGL v2.0 with TfL amendments; commercial use, distribution and adaptation allowed; 'Powered by TfL Open Data' attribution; 500 calls per minute per feed; no IP transfer; as-is, no guaranteed supply; revisable without notice (archived copy captured 2026-09-10; live page blocks automated fetches) web.archive.org
- JamCam feeds give regularly updated still images plus short looped video clips (UKAuthority, 2016; archived copy) web.archive.org
- 'modified' dates on JamCam records are database artefacts that change only on rebuilds, not when images change (TfL Tech Forum; archived copy) web.archive.org
- Only real-time JamCam images are provided, no historic images (TfL Tech Forum; archived copy) web.archive.org
- Reported outage where JamCam images and clips were not supplied due to a technical fault (TfL Webteam, 2018; archived copy) web.archive.org
- No TfL or JamCam MCP server in the official registry registry.modelcontextprotocol.io
- No OAuth or discovery documents (/.well-known/* return 404) api.tfl.gov.uk
Notes
About. Transport for London's Unified API lists about 900 London road 'JamCam' traffic cameras with coordinates, view direction and links to each camera's latest still image and a short looped video clip. TfL says the TfL-branded, date- and time-stamped images refresh every three minutes or more often. Free; keyless calls work at a lower rate limit, and a free TfL API portal key raises it.
Price. Free under TfL's Transport Data Service terms. Anonymous access is limited to 50 requests a minute; a free '500 requests a minute' product key is available on the TfL API portal, and higher quotas are available on request.
Coverage. Greater London roads only. 890 cameras were listed on 2026-10-26, 805 of them flagged available. Cameras can be added or removed, and TfL has reported outages where images or clips were not supplied.
Timing. TfL: images are 'refreshed every three minutes - sometimes more often'; feed copy every 2 minutes, at most 2 minutes from capture to display.
Licence. TfL Transport Data Service licence, based on Open Government Licence v2.0 with TfL amendments: worldwide, royalty-free, perpetual, non-exclusive; you may copy, publish, distribute, adapt and exploit the information commercially and non-commercially, including in your own product. You must attribute 'Powered by TfL Open Data' (plus the Ordnance Survey/Geomni statements), follow TfL branding guidelines, keep to at most 500 calls per minute per feed, and give accurate registration details. TfL's open-data page adds that JamCam images must not be cropped and already carry TfL branding. The licence transfers no intellectual property rights, comes 'as is' with no guarantee of continued supply, and TfL may revise it without notice. The terms do not mention AI training or resale specifically.
Compiled from public sources. Is this your company? Publish your card ›
Compiled from public sources · updated 2026-10-28JSONSiteCompare