Sensor.Community

Citizen PM2.5/PM10, temperature, humidity and noise sensors in 70+ countries, last 5 minutes, no key.

Self-serve API, no key, irlpls adapter · docs

Mode
Live · minutes
Coverage
Global
Price
Free
Key
Not needed
Resale
Not stated
AI training
Not stated

Eight links

0 of 8 links claimed · 0 evidenced

Compiled from public sources, unclaimed. What they mean

Each link
  1. 1. Real personNot stated

    Person · Not stated

    Still open: Volunteers register sensors with an account; no identity check is documented, and owners are not named in the data.

  2. 2. Captured locallyNot stated

    Camera · Not stated

    Still open: Not a camera source.

    Place · Claimed. Each sensor's owner sets its location in the devices.sensor.community configuration site.

    Still open: Self-reported by the volunteer and not checked. Records carry an exact_location flag: in a probe, flagged stations gave full-precision coordinates and the rest 3 decimals (about 100 m), but the flag's meaning is not documented. An indoor flag is also self-reported.

    Needs both: the weaker one counts.

  3. 3. Genuine deviceNot stated

    App · Not stated

    Still open: The firmware is open source (GPL-3.0), but nothing attests that a device runs unmodified firmware, and data are pushed with only a sensor ID header.

  4. 4. Sealed captureNot stated

    Camera · Not stated

    Still open: Not a camera source.

    Content · Claimed. Readings come from named low-cost sensor models (e.g. Nova Fitness SDS011, BME280, DHT22), reported as raw values.

    Still open: Low-cost sensors with no calibration or quality control documented for the API, and no correction (e.g. for humidity) is stated.

    Counts only with a stated signing mechanism (C2PA, a manifest).

  5. 5. Known timestampReported

    Time · Claimed. The server sets the timestamp when it receives the data; the docs tell senders not to send a timestamp.

    Still open: The timestamp is the server's receive time, not the sensor's measurement time, and nothing is signed. The feed gives no time zone; the probe values matched UTC.

    A time stated, not attested (RFC 3161, a log): Reported.

  6. 6. Tracked in transitNot stated

    Custody record (optional field) · Not stated

  7. 7. Independently verifiedNot stated

    Cross-check · Not stated

    Still open: Nothing independent confirms individual readings; neighbouring sensors can be compared by the user, but the provider documents no cross-check.

  8. 8. Delivered to youNot stated

    Delivery receipt (optional field) · Not stated

API

No account or key needed.

base
https://data.sensor.community
auth
No key
access
Self-serve
adapter
sensor_community
  • GET /airrohr/v1/filter/area={lat},{lon},{km}
  • GET /airrohr/v1/filter/box={lat1},{lon1},{lat2},{lon2}
  • GET /airrohr/v1/filter/country={CC,CC}
  • GET /airrohr/v1/sensor/{apiID}/
  • GET /static/v1/data.json
  • GET /static/v2/data.1h.json

Rate limit. No numeric limit published. The User-Agent is required so operators can contact the source of excessive requests.

Sources

9 sources
  1. Keyless GET API; endpoints for last 5 minutes (area, box, country, type, sensor), v2 5-min/1h/24h averages; User-Agent required since 2022-11-04; update frequency; data.sensor.community for reading, not api.sensor.community; server sets timestamp; daily CSV archive github.com
  2. Live check: 71 records within 3 km of Berlin, 1 to 6 minutes old; SDS011, DHT22, BME280, BMP180 and DNMS noise sensors; exact_location 0 records with 3-decimal coordinates and exact_location 1 with full precision (2026-10-26) data.sensor.community
  3. 17,291 sensors in 72 countries reported in the last 5 minutes; per-country counts (2026-10-26) data.sensor.community
  4. Contributor-driven global sensor network creating open environmental data; footer licences: firmware GPL-3.0, DB contents DbCL 1.0, photos CC0; donations sensor.community
  5. DbCL 1.0 terms: worldwide royalty-free copyright licence including commercial use and sublicensing, conditional on ODbL compliance, as-is opendatacommons.org
  6. Only an imprint and privacy notice (last modified 2020-02-20); no terms of use sensor.community
  7. Sensor owners configure their sensor's location themselves after logging in devices.sensor.community
  8. api.sensor.community serves only push-sensor-data and now endpoints api.sensor.community
  9. No Sensor.Community MCP server in the official registry registry.modelcontextprotocol.io
Notes

About. Sensor.Community (formerly Luftdaten.info) is a contributor-driven global network of DIY, low-cost sensors that publishes open environmental data: particulate matter (PM10, PM2.5), temperature, humidity, air pressure and, from some stations, noise. About 17,000 sensors in 72 countries reported in the last 5 minutes on 2026-10-26, most of them in Europe. A keyless API returns every measurement of the last 5 minutes, filterable by radius, box, country or sensor type, plus 1-hour and 24-hour averages. It reports what volunteers' sensors already measure; it cannot place new sensors.

Price. Free: the API serves data by GET request with no credentials. No paid tier is offered; the project asks for donations.

Coverage. Wherever volunteers have installed sensors. The all-sensors feed on 2026-10-26 held 17,291 sensors in 72 countries; Germany (6,792), the Netherlands (2,636), Poland, Bulgaria and Belgium had the most, and the US had 80. Outside Europe coverage is sparse.

Timing. API docs: '/airrohr/v1/filter/{query} - all measurements of the last 5 minutes filtered by query'; 'An endpoint covering data in the last minute is updated every minute.'

Licence. The site footer licenses the database contents under the Open Data Commons Database Contents License (DbCL) 1.0, the firmware under GPL-3.0 and photos under CC0 1.0. DbCL grants a worldwide, royalty-free, perpetual copyright licence that 'explicitly include[s] commercial use' and sublicensing, on condition that you comply with the ODbL, which covers the database itself; the footer does not link the ODbL separately. Contents come 'as is' without warranty. No terms of use beyond these licences and a privacy notice were found, and nothing mentions AI training, resale or ownership.

Compiled from public sources. Is this your company? Publish your card ›

Compiled from public sources · updated 2026-10-27JSONSiteCompare