EMSC SeismicPortal (FDSN event service and live feed)
Global earthquake catalogue, free keyless FDSN API and websocket.
Self-serve API, no key, irlpls adapter · docs
- Mode
- Live · minutes
- Coverage
- Global catalogue
- Price
- Free
- Key
- Not needed
- Resale
- Not stated
- AI training
- Not stated
Eight links
0 of 8 links claimed · 0 evidenced
Compiled from public sources, unclaimed. What they mean
Each link
- 1. Real personNot stated
Person · Not stated
Still open: Event solutions come from contributing agencies and automatic processing; individual reviewers are not identified.
- 2. Captured locallyNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a camera source.
Place · Claimed. Each event has latitude, longitude, depth and a Flynn-Engdahl region name.
Still open: Locations are estimates from the contributing agency ('auth' field names it) and are unsigned.
Needs both: the weaker one counts.
- 3. Genuine deviceNot stated
App · Not stated
Still open: No signing or attestation of events is documented.
- 4. Sealed captureNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a camera source.
Content · Claimed. Each event names its authority ('auth') and magnitude type.
Still open: The terms say information may be incomplete, delayed or contain errors; the review process is not described on the pages read.
Counts only with a stated signing mechanism (C2PA, a manifest).
- 5. Known timestampReported
Time · Claimed. Each event has a UTC origin time and a lastupdate time.
Still open: Times are the catalogue's computed values, unsigned; events are revised.
A time stated, not attested (RFC 3161, a log): Reported.
- 6. Tracked in transitNot stated
Custody record (optional field) · Not stated
- 7. Independently verifiedNot stated
Cross-check · Not stated
Still open: The catalogue merges contributors but the API does not expose cross-source confirmation for an event on the pages read.
- 8. Delivered to youNot stated
Delivery receipt (optional field) · Not stated
API
No account or key needed.
- base
- https:/
/ www.seismicportal.eu/ fdsnws/ event/ 1 - auth
- No key
- access
- Self-serve
- adapter
emsc_seismicportal
- GET /
query - GET wss:/
/ www.seismicportal.eu/ standing_order (SockJS websocket)
Rate limit. Not stated; only a per-request cap of 20,000 events.
Sources
4 sources
- FDSN WS-EVENT service: parameters, formats, 20,000 per request, catalogues, CC BY 4.0, OpenAPI/WADL www.seismicportal.eu
- Websocket real-time notification, CC BY 4.0 for websocket data www.seismicportal.eu
- Terms: CC BY 4.0 with credit example, database/mirroring exclusion, disclaimer (may be incomplete, delayed or erroneous), EMSC founded 1975 non-governmental www.seismicportal.eu
- Live GET (limit=2, format=json) returned real events www.seismicportal.eu
Notes
About. The Euro-Mediterranean Seismological Centre (EMSC-CSEM), a non-governmental organisation founded in 1975, publishes its earthquake catalogue through a keyless FDSN WS-EVENT web service (QuakeML, JSON or CSV, up to 20,000 events per request) and a near-real-time websocket that pushes a JSON message when an event is inserted or updated.
Price. No price or key is mentioned on the service pages; data are distributed under CC BY 4.0.
Coverage. The live sample included a Hawaii event; the pages read give no list of covered regions, and catalogue completeness varies by region and magnitude. The 'catalog' field has the values EMSC-RTS and EMSC-EMB.
Timing. Page: "Using the Websocket protocol, users can be notified in (near) realtime of new events. A Json message is sent when an event is inserted or updated."
Licence. Terms: "Datasets and products downloaded from our data services are provided under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license, which permits reuse, including commercial use, as long as there is attribution." Suggested credit: "EMSC-CSEM SeismicPortal, https://www.seismicportal.eu". Data from the websocket is also CC BY 4.0. But "the data services, and the internal databases as such are not covered by the CC BY 4.0 license": "mirroring the site or bulk-copying a database, requires prior written permission". The disclaimer gives no warranty of accuracy, reliability or completeness and tells users to consult national authorities for critical decisions. The terms do not mention AI training or resale.
Compiled from public sources. Is this your company? Publish your card ›
Compiled from public sources · updated 2026-10-27JSONSiteCompare